Sport in the City

Integrating young people through sport and employment

The Sport dans la Ville (Sport in the City) association was founded in 1998 by Nicolas Eschermann and Philippe Oddou to favor the social integration of young people through sports. Today, there are 18 sports centers in the heart of difficult neighborhoods in different municipalities in the Rhône-Alpes region (Lyon, Grenoble, Saint-Etienne) which provide free facilities and services to 2,800 young people (7 to 20 years-old) every week. The participants benefit from the help of professionals and play football (soccer), basketball and rugby. 



Having become France’s leading organization for integration through sports, Sport dans la Ville has extended its activities over the years. For 20 to 30 year-olds, the association created “Entrepreneurs dans la Ville” (Entrepreneurs in the City) in conjunction with the EMLYON management school to encourage the start-up of new companies. As part of this activity, the association built a dedicated space for young entrepreneurs known as “Campus Pro”. The Dassault Group contributed to this initiative by partially funding the offices in this 600 m² building. These facilities are used by start-up entrepreneurs and welcome 350 young people in a related job-creation program, “Job dans la Ville” (Job in the City). The entrepreneurs and youths looking for work are supported in this “incubator” by professionals, including trainers, legal advisors and successful entrepreneurs. 

Other initiatives have been launched by Sport dans la Ville, including summer and winter vacation outings, international exchange programs with similar organizations in the US, Brazil and India, as well as workshops to improve written and verbal communication with the “Apprenti’ Bus”, which goes to a different neighborhood every evening.

Sport dans la Ville

L’Insertion des jeunes par le sport et l’emploi

L’association Sport dans la Ville a été fondée en 1998 par Nicolas Eschermann et Philippe Oddou pour favoriser l’insertion sociale des jeunes par le biais de programmes sportifs. Aujourd’hui, ce sont dix-huit centres sportifs implantés au cœur des quartiers sensibles de différentes communes de la région Rhône-Alpes (Lyon, Grenoble, Saint-Etienne) qui accueillent chaque semaine 2 800 jeunes, âgés de 7 à 20 ans, afin de pratiquer gratuitement, encadrés par des professionnels, le football, le basket-ball et le rugby.



Devenue la principale association en France d’insertion par le sport, Sport dans la Ville a étendu son activité au fil du temps. Pour les jeunes de 20 à 30 ans, l’association a créé « Entrepreneurs dans la Ville » en partenariat avec l’école de management EMLYON pour aider à la création d’entreprises. Dans ce cadre, l’association a construit un nouvel espace dédié aux jeunes créateurs d’entreprise baptisé « Campus Pro ». Le Groupe Dassault est intervenu dans le financement de cette initiative en finançant une partie de l’aménagement de bureaux équipés dans un bâtiment de 600 m². Ces locaux hébergent en permanence les nouveaux chefs d’entreprise et accueillent 350 jeunes accompagnés sur le chemin de l’emploi dans le programme « Job dans la Ville ». Les entrepreneurs et chercheurs d’emploi sont épaulés dans cet « incubateur » par des professionnels, dont des formateurs, des juristes et des jeunes entrepreneurs ayant réussis.

D’autres initiatives ont été lancées par Sport dans la Ville, dont des séjours de vacances d’été et d’hiver, des programmes d’échanges internationaux avec des associations similaires aux Etats-Unis, au Brésil et en Inde et des ateliers d’aide à la communication écrite et orale avec « l’Apprenti’ Bus », qui circule tous les soirs dans un quartier de banlieue différent.